Contest Entries

I entered 3 online contests that were all on viewbug.com, below are the images I submitted for the contests as well as some explanations on my entries and the contests.

Contest 1: Pets In Action

jordanstevens-tortellinipython

I found this contest through the blog links to viewbug.com. Upon signing up, I was granted admission to a free premium photo contest. This photo was taken of my pet snake, using a macro 100mm lens. I creating my entry by adding some finishing touches to this image, and uploading it to the contest. I gave it the title, “Yawn of the Python.”

I entered this photo into the best fit I could find for it. I found the contest titled, “Pets in Action,” and knew it would be a great submission. The contest consisted of all sorts of pets doing a wide variety of actions that were captured. It definitely displays a pet in action because it is my pet python yawning while resting on top of one of his habitat decorations. I think a contest like this could bring some exposure to this image and hopefully have a chance to place in it!

https://www.viewbug.com/contests/pets-in-action-photo-contest

Date Submitted: 11/30/16

Contest 2: Halloween

jordanstevens-ghost

I also found this contest on viewbug.com. It was one of their free contests and had a good theme, which was Halloween. I took this picture up at Bannack and thought it would be a good fit for a Halloween themed image. I used a slow exposure to make my subject ghostly, and I adjusted it in post to make it more eerie.

I thought this image would be a great fit for this contest because it turned out pretty scary and the contest called for some spooky pictures. I titled this image, “Haunted Hallway,” and thought the ghostly nature of this image could catch some eyes. I think the combo of the abandoned and rotting building with the ghost in the hall makes it a great image.

https://www.viewbug.com/contests/halloween-photo-contest-2016

Date Submitted: 11/30/16

Contest 3: My Best Shot 

jordanstevens-dandellion

The last contest I found was another free one on viewbug.com, which asks for photographer’s best shot. This was one of my favorite pictures I got from the semester, so I decided to enter it. I exported a high resolution version of this image to upload to the website’s contest, and titled it, “Dandelion Tears.”

I thought this image was a good fit for this contest because it demonstrates a lot of important photography skills, such as rule of thirds, compositon, focus, macro, etc. I loved the intricacy of the dandelion and seeing all of it up close is pretty magnificent. That’s about all there is to it, it is one of the best shots I got in my opinion so I felt like this contest was a perfect fit for it.

https://www.viewbug.com/contests/my-best-shot-photo-contest-vol-2

Date Submitted: 11/30/16

This entry was posted in Digital Imaging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment